• Port of Switzerland

Worldwide connected

Significance

The Port of Switzerland is the most important traffic hub in the country. Between 10 and 12 per cent of all imported goods reach the country through the ports. In the area of petroleum products the proportion is even higher: every third to fourth litre of petrol, diesel or heating oil arrives in Switzerland on inland vessels. The Rhine is Switzerland’s only direct connection to the ocean. This is secured by international treaties as a matter of international law.

Transporting goods by water is a particularly eco-friendly means of transport. A tonne of cargo can be transported 500 km using the energy from just five litres of diesel oil, whereas a train would only transport that tonne 333 kilometres and a truck as little as 100 kilometres. Fuel consumption, and therefore emissions from fuel consumption, are the lowest by far of any means of transport. This is largely due to the fact that large volumes of cargo can be transported in large transport containers on inland vessels.

Last but not least, safety is a very important argument in favour of barge transport. Most barges are equipped with radio and radar, thus enabling them to sail on schedule in practically any weather, day and night. Double-hulled vessels are increasingly used for transporting hazardous materials, minimising the risk of liquids or other hazardous materials escaping. There is a well-developed system of alarms, rescue procedures and assistance in place to prevent incidents, enabling action to be taken very rapidly. In contrast to other modes of transportation, capacity bottlenecks and traffic jams occur very rarely on the Rhine. The risk of accidents is therefore considerably lower than with other modes of transport. Since the captain and crew are aboard at all times, both the vessel and its cargo are monitored round the clock and are therefore well protected against theft and vandalism.

• Port of Switzerland

Worldwide connected

L’importance des ports

Les Ports rhénans suisses sont la principale plaque tournante du pays. 10 à 12 % de toutes les marchandises importées atteignent le pays via les ports. Dans le domaine des produits pétroliers, la part est encore plus élevée. Un litre d’essence, de gazole ou de fioul domestique sur trois ou quatre arrive en Suisse par bateau. Le Rhin est l’unique accès direct à la mer pour la Suisse. Celui-ci est garanti du point de vue du droit international par des traités internationaux.

Le transport fluvial de marchandises est un mode de transport particulièrement écologique. Avec l’énergie de cinq litres de gazole, un bateau peut transporter une tonne de marchandises sur 500 km, tandis que le chemin de fer transporte une tonne sur 333 km et un camion sur 100 km seulement. La consommation de carburant – et avec elle les émissions issues de la combustion du carburant – dans la navigation est de loin la plus faible. Ceci s’explique surtout par les dimensions des bateaux, qui permettent de transporter de grandes quantités de marchandises.

Mais la sécurité est également un argument important pour le transport par bateau. La plupart des bateaux sont équipés de radios et de radars; ils peuvent donc circuler par presque n’importe quel temps jour et nuit - conformément à la feuille de route. De plus en plus de bateaux à double coque sont utilisés pour le transport de marchandises dangereuses, ce qui limite le risque de fuite de liquides ou d’autres substances dangereuses. Pour lutter contre ce type d’événement, il existe un système développé de signalisation, de sauvetage et de secours qui permet de prendre des mesures au plus vite. Contrairement aux autres modes de transport, la navigation sur le Rhin n’enregistre que très rarement des goulots d’étranglement ou des bouchons. Les risques d’accident sont ainsi bien moindres que dans les autres modes de transport. Étant donné que le capitaine et l’équipage vivent à bord en permanence, le bateau tout comme la marchandise sont tout le temps surveillés et donc protégés des vols et des dégradations malveillantes.